Packing Tips for the Notorious Over-Packer

Screen Shot 2016-10-18 at 11.02.18 AM.pngIf you’re anything like me, you probably have packed a little too much on your trips. Here are some tips to simplify your packing and make your next trip easier!

+ Pack outfits, not just items
I spent many years just riffling through my drawers and closet pulling out shirts or pants that I like, without actually thinking about what I would wear with what. So, when I was on my trip and looking for clothes in my suitcase, I had to guess what I should wear with what and make outfits then and there. That was frustrating and time consuming, and resulted in me packing things that I never ended up actually wearing. To avoid this, I recommend packing complete outfits and pairing things together. You could even take it a step further and take photos or make notes of the outfits in your phone to easily refer to later.

+ Roll your clothes toΒ save space
This isn’t really a secret, but rolling your clothes instead of folding them saves space in your suitcase. This leaves you extra room to bring things home with you from your destination, or add other things that you may have forgotten. As an added plus, your clothes stay less wrinkly rolled rather than folded.

+ Mix and match items
To pack lighter, plan to re-wear pants and tops in different ways so you don’t have to pack separate things for every single occasion or day. Also, bring items that you can wear during the day and easily dress up in the evenings if you are going out. This can simply be done by adding jewelry or changing your shoes.

Hope these tips help you pack for your next adventure!

xoxo
Jess

* all photos by Jess unless otherwise noted

Leave a Reply

